Super Committers

Super committers are a group of TSC-approved individuals within the OpenDaylight community with the power to merge patches on behalf of projects during approved Release Activities.

Super Committer Activities

Super committers are given super committer powers ONLY during TSC-approved activities and are not a power that is active on a regular basis. Once one of the TSC-approved activities are triggered, helpdesk will enable the permissions listed for the respective activities for the duration of that activity.

Code Freeze

Note

This activity has been pre-approved by the TSC and does not require a TSC vote. Helpdesk should be notified to enable the permissions and again to disable the permissions once activities are complete.

Super committers are granted powers to merge blocking patches for the duration code of freeze until a release is approved and code freeze is lifted. This permission is only granted for the specific branch that is frozen.

The following powers are granted:

  • Submit button access

During this time Super Committers can ONLY merge patches that have a +2 Code-Review by a project committer approving the merge, and the patch passes Jenkins Verify check. If neither of these conditions are met then DO NOT merge the patch.

Version bumping

Note

This activity has been pre-approved by the TSC and does not require a TSC vote. Helpdesk should be notified to enable the permissions and again to disable the permissions once activities are complete.

Super committers are granted powers to merge version bump related patches for the duration of version bumping activities.

The following powers are granted:

  • Vote Code-Review +2
  • Vote Verified +1
  • Remove Reviewer
  • Submit button access

These permissions are granted to allow super committers to push through version bump patches with haste. The Remove Reviewer permission is to be used only for removing Jenkins vote caused by a failed distribution-check job, if that failure is caused by a temporary version inconsistency present while the bump activity is being performed.

Version bumping activities come in 2 forms.

  1. Post-release Autorelease version bumping
  2. MRI project version bumping

Case 1, the TSC has approved an official OpenDaylight release and after the binaries are released to the world all Autorelease managed projects are version bumped appropriately to the next development release number.

Case 2, During the Release Integrated Deadline of the release schedule MRI projects submit desired version updates. Once approved by the TSC Super Committers can merge these patches across the projects.

Ideally the version bumping activities should not include code modifications, if they do +2 Code-Review vote should be complete by a committer on the project to indicate that they approve the code changes.

Once version bump patches are merged these permissions are removed.

Exceptional cases

Any activities not in the list above will fall under the exceptional case in which requires TSC approval before Super Committers can merge changes. These cases should be brought up to the TSC for voting.

Super Committers

Name IRC Email
Anil Belur abelur abelur@linuxfoundation.org
Ariel Adams aadams aadam@redhat.com
Daniel Farrell dfarrell07 dfarrell@redhat.com
Jamo Luhrsen jamoluhrsen jluhrsen@gmail.com
Luis Gomez LuisGomez ecelgp@gmail.com
Michael Vorburger vorburger vorburger@redhat.com
Sam Hague shague shague@redhat.com
Stephen Kitt skitt skitt@redhat.com
Robert Varga rovarga nite@hq.sk
Thanh Ha zxiiro thanh.ha@linuxfoundation.org